Weekend Recap: Mountains + Asheville

Happy Sunday! I hope your weekend was fantastic and included some sort of fun moving, eating, and relaxing! Saturday included a super spontaneous adventure for me, and it was a much needed break from school thoughts plus helped fulfill some of my restless desires for something out of the ordinary.

But first, let’s rewind to Friday! The whole day was freezing and rainy, so I was mostly just craving a cozy, restful night somewhere warm. After class, I enjoyed a pajama afternoon and got some job hunting business taken care of before dozing off for a quick nap. When I woke up, I was a little more energized, so a few friends and I ventured out to a local coffee shop to share drinks and catch up after a busy week. It was a much needed rest day after a whirlwind of a week.

Now for Saturday! It began with a 4 mile run with one of my favorite running and nutrition loving friends, Krista. We decided on a 9:00am morning run knowing full well that saying 9:00 meant at least 9:15.  Around 9:45, we set out for our run. It was perfect weather (40 degrees and sunny), and it’s always so nice to get a run in before most of the world is out and about.

NC

After our run, I ended up making unexpected plans to drive north to the mountains for a little day trip and hike at Tallulah Gorge. We hopped in the car around noon, picked up warm drinks, and hit the road. We climbed the thousands of stairs to see the falls, and man, it gave me the typical “I love the mountains. I want to live here.” feelings. After our little hiking break, we ended up continuing our drive north to venture through downtown Clayton, Georgia. Such a cute downtown with lots of antiques!

NC 2

On up we drove, until we saw the 16 miles to North Carolina sign and thought, “Why not?” We drove into North Carolina with intentions to try the best barbecue around, but when we realized Asheville was just another hour, we again asked, “Why not?” This is why I love my friends! It’s so much better to ask the question why not on days like this rather than why!

NC 3

We ended up in Asheville around 6:00, and strolled through downtown while we shivered uncontrollably. After asking the cashier at a local shop for her dinner recommendation, we made our way to Asheville Brewing Company. Chelsea and I were feeling pizza all the way, so we went with the Biltmore. It was loaded with peppers, onions, spinach, pepperoni, hamburger, and ham, and it is a frontrunner for the best pizza I’ve ever had. If you’re in Asheville, you MUST try this place. Not to mention, the spinach artichoke dip with carrots, celery, pita chips, and tortilla chips was to die for and plenty for our hungry group of 4.

NC 4

Though we didn’t get to explore too much in Asheville, the random day trip was totally worth it. We spent lots of time in the car playing different games and chatting about life, and I just know these are the things I’ll remember about college. By the end of the day, we were all exhausted but so satisfied with how we spent our day. Of course, I could’ve done schoolwork or cleaned my house, but those are the things that can wait.

NC 1

What did you do this weekend? Is there anywhere you’re dying to go for the day? (I’ll go!)    

3 thoughts on “Weekend Recap: Mountains + Asheville

Leave a Reply

