All the Produce: Grocery Tips

Hello! I hope you all had an enjoyable weekend–full of relaxation or excitement, whatever you were needing! I spent some much anticipated time with family, laid out a post-graduation schedule/plan, made a yummy pancake brunch, and even fit in a long-ish run. It was the perfect mix of downtime and productivity, and dealing with all the post-grad stuff took a huge weight off of my shoulders. Now for some foodie business: this post goes out to all the produce lovers or should be produce lovers (so everyone)! I have a resource  and a tip that I must share with you to make your grocery shopping trips a little easier.

As I was perusing the produce section at Trader Joe’s, I started to brainstorm how to make the most of my produce. All too often I purchase a container of spinach and before I’m able to finish it, it’s turned into a gross mushy mess that I have to throw away, and I just hate wasting fruits and veggies.

In the past few weeks I’ve discovered two easy breezy ways to get the freshest produce for the best prices. You’ve gotta take advantage of these!

First, buy seasonally! Fruits and vegetables that are in season tend to be priced better, and they always taste amazing. In order to do this efficiently, I started using this chart from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. This site displays what produce is currently in season, and along with helping me pick out my usual favorites, it provides some inspiration for new veggies. Citrus fruits are a must purchase item right now, so be sure to pick up a few next time you’re out and about. And even though apples are a favorite at all times, I’m itching for a fall trip to the North Georgia orchards; there’s just something about fall leaves and juicy apples. Of course, it’s not entirely possible to purchase all things in season, but it’s great to make the most of your favorites when they’re available!

Second, use the salad bar! Holy cow, this changed my life! When making my grocery list, I knew I wanted spinach for sandwiches and small side salads, but there is usually no way I can finish an entire box before it goes bad. I was just about to purchase a few hearts of romaine when the idea to buy from the salad bar popped into my mind. I filled up a to-go salad container with exactly the amount of spinach I wanted, and it only cost $1.50 (FYI, spinach doesn’t weigh a lot). If you’re ever in need of a small amount of produce, especially if it is lightweight, don’t forget about the salad bar option!

Let me know: Is there anything you do in the grocery store that we should all be doing?

Leave a Reply

