Black Bean Brownies: Make it for Bae

Happy almost Valentine’s Day! ❤ ❤ ❤ I hope you’re super pumped to spend this weekend with the people you love! I’m hoping to fill Saturday with a friend-brunch, a good run, a baseball game and lots of warm blankets. This cold weather is killing me, but at least it’s sunny.

In honor of love, I had to try a new to me recipe full of lovely ingredients to share with some of my favorite girls. These Black Bean Brownies are absolutely phenomenal! Of course, I didn’t let anyone come into the kitchen during this baking adventure because I didn’t want any biased opinions. Luckily, the end product was better than I could have ever hoped for. I was expecting a hint of “earthy” flavor, but these brownies were fudgy and so decadent. I cannot say enough about this recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie! If you’re skeptical, you should totally make them for laughs (and be surprised).

chelseakornse-4581

chelseakornse-4574

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 1/2 cups black beans (15 oz can, drained and rinsed well)
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup quick cook oats
  • 1/4 cup vegetable or coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 to 2/3 cup chocolate chips (I used dark chocolate)

Preheat the oven to 350 and grease an 8×8 dish. Toss all of the ingredients besides the chocolate chips into a food processor or blender (I used a blender) and blend thoroughly until smooth and batter-like. Stir in chocolate chips and spread the mixture into the baking dish. Bake for 15-18 minutes (18 worked best for me) then cool for an additional 10 minutes before cutting.

Again, huge shoutout and thank you to Chocolate Covered Katie for this recipe; I can’t wait to explore her site even more!

chelseakornse-4592

These are especially amazing with a cold glass of almond milk, and I can only imagine that a scoop of ice cream would be to die for! Let me know if you try them! Happy Valentine’s weekend, y’all! ❤

2 thoughts on “Black Bean Brownies: Make it for Bae

Leave a Reply

